close

Ioannis Mandafounis & Aoife McAtamneyartist sheet 36/72

focus

events

A prolific choreographer and dancer, Ioannis Mandafounis works as a member of the Mamaza collective, with Fabrice Mazliah and May Zarhy, or in several other configurations. This is his first collaboration with the Irish choreographer and dancer Aoife McAtamney.

PerformanceProcess Basel 2017-2018
tue 19 Sep 2017
1
18h
One One One (2017)Musée Tinguely

One One One, created in 2015, is the first joint project by Mandafounis and McAtamney. In a public place, outdoors or indoors, two empty chairs invite sitters to spend some time. As soon as a person takes a seat, one of the dancers tries to catch the sitter's eye and dances for as long as eye contact is maintained.

PerformanceProcess Paris, Centre Culturel Suisse 18.09-13.12.15
fri 18 Sep 2015
1
18h
One One One (2015)Centre culturel suisser+33 1 42 71 44 50

Ioannis Mandafounis and Aoife McAtamney invite us to break the rules, to disturb and unsettle the audience and passers-by, but also to grab their attention and challenge them. The dancers translate the emotions of the audience, transform them, and make them into a danced form. The artists take public space as a place for experimentation rather than performance. To do this, they physically and mentally destabilise reality and give themselves the chance to explore its limits and its relationship to transgression.

Exhibitions

extraball

symposium

+

biography

bibliography

interview

images

vidéos

texts

From eye to gesture

A dance duo invites spectators to push back their limits and really let go. ...

A dance duo invites spectators to push back their limits and really let go.

Ioannis Mandafounis is first and foremost an excellent dancer. Born in 1981, he studied at the Paris Conservatoire before joining the Göteborg Opera Ballet, then The Nederlands Dans Theater and most significantly, from 2005 to 2009, the prestigious Forsythe Company. In parallel he founded the Lemurius Company in Athens in 2004, with which he created dance pieces for the Athens Dance Festival, then in 2009 he launched the Project 11 company with Fabrice Mazliah. His goal was to rediscover the primary expression of the body: the ability of a face, an arm, or a pelvis to say something about what it means to be human. This approach was especially clear in Twisted Pair, presented at the Théâtre de l'Usine in Geneva in December 2013, a sort of playful inventory for four dancers in which the jumping, moving and trembling body was truly considered as an instrument.
In One One One, the performance scheduled at the CCS in Paris, Ioannis Mandafounis takes to the street along with Aoife McAtamney. The only visual signs are two chairs placed side by side. The two dancers draw their emotions from the audience and send them back in the form of  “choreographic envelopes”.

The idea goes further than a mere playful translation of human attitudes, unlike those mime artists who, in festivals or crowds of bystanders, follow people around mimicking them. The two dancers interact on a profound level with the spectatorsles and invite them to test their own relationship to transgression.

 

Marie-Pierre Genecand, theatre and dance critic for the daily newspaper Le Temps and for RTS

links

close

Ioannis Mandafounis & Aoife McAtamneyFiche artiste 37/78

focus

événements

Chorégraphe et danseur prolifique, Ioannis Mandafounis travaille au sein du collectif Mamaza, avec Fabrice Mazliah et May Zarhy, ou dans plusieurs autres configurations. C'est sa première collaboration avec la chorégraphe et danseuse irlandaise Aoife McAtamney.

PerformanceProcess Bâle 2017-2018
mar 19 Sep 2017
1
18h
One One One (2017)Musée Tinguely

One One One est le premier projet en commun de Mandafounis et McAtamney, créé en mai 2015. En extérieur, dans l’espace public, - ou en intérieur - deux chaises sont à la disposition du public. Lorsque qu’une personne s’assied, l’un des danseurs capte son regard et effectue une danse le temps que le contact visuel soit maintenu.

PerformanceProcess Paris, Centre Culturel Suisse 18.09-13.12.15
ven 18 Sep 2015
1
18h
One One One (2015)Centre culturel suisser+33 1 42 71 44 50

Ioannis Mandafounis et Aoife McAtamney invitent à déroger, déranger, perturber mais aussi interroger et interpeller les spectateurs et les passants en balade. Les danseurs traduisent les émotions du public, les transforment pour les lui restituer en une enveloppe dansée. Les artistes s'approprient l'espace public en tant que terrain d'expériences et non de représentation. Pour cela, ils s'engagent physiquement et mentalement dans une action de déstabilisation du réel et se donnent la possibilité d'explorer ses limites et son rapport à la transgression.

Expositions

extraball

colloques

+

Notice biographique

bibliographie

interview

images

videos

textes

Du regard au geste

Un duo de danseurs invite les spectateurs à dépasser leurs limites, sans modération. ...

Un duo de danseurs invite les spectateurs à dépasser leurs limites, sans modération.

Ioannis Mandafounis est d'abord un excellent danseur. Né en 1981, il a fait ses classes au Conservatoire de Paris avant d'intégrer le Göteborg Opera Ballet, puis The Nederlands Dans Theater et, surtout, de 2005 à 2009, la prestigieuse Forsythe Company. Parallèlement, il a fondé la Lemurius Company à Athènes en 2004 avec laquelle il a créé des pièces pour le festival de danse d'Athènes, puis, en 2009, il a lancé la Compagnie Project 11 avec Fabrice Mazliah. Sa quête ? Redécouvrir l'expression première du corps. La capacité qu'ont un visage, un bras, un bassin à dire quelque chose de l'humain. Ce parti était particulièrement clair dans Twisted Pair, présenté au Théâtre de l'Usine, à Genève en décembre 2013, sorte d'inventaire ludique pour quatre danseurs où, entre sauts, déplacement, tremblements, le corps était réellement considéré comme un instrument.
Dans One One One, la performance à l'affiche du CCS, à Paris, Ioannis Mandafounis se rend dans la rue. Avec pour seule signalisation visuelle, deux chaises placées côte à côte. Avec Aoife Mc Atamney, les deux danseurs puisent les émotions dans le public et proposent de les renvoyer à l'expéditeur sous forme d'« enveloppe chorégraphique ».

Le principe va plus loin qu'une simple traduction ludique des attitudes humaines, comme ces mimes qui, dans les festivals ou les foules de badauds, suivent les passants pour les imiter. Les deux danseurs entrent profondément en interaction avec les gens présents et les invitent à tester leur propre relation à la transgression.

 

Marie-Pierre Genecand, critique de théâtre et de danse au quotidien Le Temps et à la RTS

liens