close

Marie-Caroline Hominalartist sheet 24/73

focus

events

One of the most energetic figures on the Swiss stage, she also plays with notions of glamour and a form of provocation. She creates choreographic pieces with several dancers/actors, as well as more intimate and performance-art-related solo pieces.

PerformanceProcess Basel 2017-2018
tue 26 Sep 2017
1
21h30
Silver (2017)Kaserne Basel

"Silver" is a dance and musical performance, a crescendo where Marie-Caroline Hominal brings text, light, smoke and choreography all together for a 30-minute show. "Silver" is a reflection on the idea of the "show", what is a "show" and how to present a "show", but also on how energy, beats and movements affect us personally.
Thus opens "Silver". Marie-Caroline escapes the usual theatrical settings to venture in the sunny fields of electronic music. A bewitching performance using and mixing live sounds programmed by Plastoc and a set specially designed by Inox. Marie-Caroline Hominal combines different elements of her work—dance, performance, writing & music—to offer a purely heteroclitic object... It is so so MCH.

fri 29 Sep 2017
1
15h
The Triumph of Fame (2017)Kaserne Basel+41616666000

«The Triumph of Fame» is one of a collection of six poems by Petrarch (1304-1374) titled «I Trionfi», which describe the phases of life by opposing virtues in duels: Fame wins over Death but is defeated by Time and Eternity.

In the backstage of a theatre, beyond the scenery, welcomes Marie-Caroline Hominal one guest at a time. In this performance the artist strips down the codes of theatrical artifice in a phantasmagorical and intimate one-to-one encounter.

sun 01 Oct 2017
1
15h
The Triumph of Fame (2017)Kaserne Basel+41616666000

«The Triumph of Fame» is one of a collection of six poems by Petrarch (1304-1374) titled «I Trionfi», which describe the phases of life by opposing virtues in duels: Fame wins over Death but is defeated by Time and Eternity.

In the backstage of a theatre, beyond the scenery, Marie-Caroline Hominal welcomes one guest at a time. In this performance the artist strips down the codes of theatrical artifice in a phantasmagorical and intimate one-to-one encounter.

PerformanceProcess Paris, Centre Culturel Suisse 18.09-13.12.15
sat 19 Sep 2015
1
15h
Le Triomphe de la Renommée (2013)Centre culturel suisser+33 1 42 71 44 50

The Triumph of Fame is one of a series of six poems by Petrarch (1304–1374),Tri I onfi, which describe the stages of life by placing virtues in situations of conflict: Fame triumphs over Death, but is vanquished by Time and Eternity. Marie-Caroline Hominal receives spectators individually in a bedroom, and deconstructs the artifice of theatrical codes in a phantasmagorical, intimate confrontation.

sun 20 Sep 2015
1
14h
Le Triomphe de la Renommée (2013)Centre culturel suisser+33 1 42 71 44 50

Exhibitions

extraball

One of the most energetic figures on the Swiss stage, she also plays with notions of glamour and a form of provocation. She creates choreographic pieces with several dancers/actors, as well as more intimate and performance-art-related solo pieces.

symposium

+

biography

bibliography

interview

images

vidéos

texts

Face to face with myself

Performer Marie-Caroline Hominal invites us into her private world for a poetic jousting tournament. ...

Performer Marie-Caroline Hominal invites us into her private world for a poetic jousting tournament.

Marie-Caroline Hominal, aka MCH, is the most glamorous and electrifying dancer on the Swiss circuit. In her ultra-rhythmic performances, the artist has explored the liberating power of rock, the excesses of advertising, the beautiful, candid obstinacy of the boxer versus the processes of camouflage, and dazzling voodoo ceremonies. Every time, the audience falls under the spell of her powerful, yet slightly coquettish and even venomous presence. Armed with deadly weapons—a hula hoop, a rope, a pistol—this femme fatale takes aim and commands our attention. She owes this intensity to her personality, of course, but also to her career and the people she has met. Trained at the Schweizerische Ballettberufsschule in Zurich and the Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance in London, she often works with artists who create unusual and powerful worlds, such as François Chaignaud with whom she created Duchesses. And yet Le Triomphe de la Renommée avoids being a tug-of-war between performer and audience, for the simple reason that this performance at the CCS takes place in her own private space. One by one, spectators enter her dressing room and watch her illustration, in performance  mode, of Petrarch's Triumphs, six poems in which the fourteenth century Italian poet compares the different forms of success. What will triumph? Fame, Love, Chastity, Time, Death or Eternity? Find out the answer in the young lady's lair.

 

Marie-Pierre Genecand

links

close

Marie-Caroline HominalFiche artiste 21/55

focus

événements

Figure des plus énergiques de la scène suisse, qui joue aussi sur le glamour et une certaine provocation, elle jongle entre des pièces chorégraphiques jouées par plusieurs danseurs/comédiens, et des projets en solo, plus intimistes et plus performatifs.

PerformanceProcess Bâle 2017-2018
mar 26 Sep 2017
1
21h30
Silver (2017)Kaserne Basel

"Silver" est une performance musicale, mais également une performance de danse. "Silver" constitue un crescendo où Marie-Caroline Hominal réunit textes, lumières, fumée et chorégraphie pour une représentation de trente minutes. "Silver" est une réflexion sur le concept de "show" - ce qu'est un "show" et comment présenter un "show" - mais également sur la façon dont l'énergie, les rythmes et les mouvements nous touchent personellement.

C'est ainsi que s'ouvre "Silver". Marie-Caroline Hominal délaisse les spécificités théâtrales afin de s'aventurer dans le champ de la musique électronique. Une performance ensorcelante qui fait usage et mélange des sons live programmés par Plastoc et un set spécialement conçu par Inox. Marie-Caroline Hominal combine différents éléments caractéristiques de son oeuvre - la danse, la performance, l'écriture ainsi que la musique - afin d'offrir un objet purement hétéroclite... débouchant sur une oeuvre quintessentiellement MCH.

ven 29 Sep 2017
1
15h
The Triumph of Fame (2017)Kaserne Basel+41616666000
dim 01 Oct 2017
1
15h
The Triumph of Fame (2017)Kaserne Basel+41616666000

"The Triumph of Fame" reprend la collection éponyme de Pétrarque (1304-1374), composée de six poèmes. Ces poèmes décrivent les phases de la vie en couplant les vertus: la Gloire l'emporte sur la Mort, mais est battue face au Temps et à l'Eternité.

Dans les coulisses d'un théâtre, derrière les décors, Marie-Caroline Hominal accueille les spectateurs un par un. Dans cette performance, l'artiste démonte les codes de l'artificialité théâtrale par une rencontre privée, phantasmagorique et intime.

PerformanceProcess Paris, Centre Culturel Suisse 18.09-13.12.15
sam 19 Sep 2015
1
15h
Le Triomphe de la Renommée (2013)Centre culturel suisser+33 1 42 71 44 50

Le Triomphe de la Renommée fait partie d'un ensemble de 6 poèmes de Pétrarque (1304 – 1374) I Trionfi qui décrivent les phases de la vie en opposant les vertus dans un combat singulier : la Renommée l'emporte sur la Mort mais est vaincue par le Temps et l'Eternité. Marie-Caroline Hominal reçoit individuellement le spectateur, dans une chambre, elle y défait les artifices des codes théâtrales dans un face à face fantasmagorique et intime.

dim 20 Sep 2015
1
14h
Le Triomphe de la Renommée (2013)Centre culturel suisser+33 1 42 71 44 50

Expositions

extraball

Figure des plus énergiques de la scène suisse, qui joue aussi sur le glamour et une certaine provocation, elle jongle entre des pièces chorégraphiques jouées par plusieurs danseurs/comédiens, et des projets en solo, plus intimistes et plus performatifs.

colloques

+

Notice biographique

bibliographie

interview

images

videos

textes

En tête à tête avec moi-même

La performeuse Marie-Caroline Hominal nous invite dans son intimité pour une joute de poèmes. ...

La performeuse Marie-Caroline Hominal nous invite dans son intimité pour une joute de poèmes.

Marie-Caroline Hominal, dite MCH, est la danseuse la plus glamour et la plus électrique du circuit helvétique. Dans ses créations ultra rythmées, l'artiste a interrogé la force libératrice du rock, les dérives de la publicité, la belle et franche obstination du boxeur versus les processus de camouflage ou encore les fulgurances des cérémonies vaudoues et, chaque fois, le public est sous le charme de sa présence dense, un brin aguicheuse, un brin venimeuse. Un hula hoop, une corde, un pistolet, la belle fixe le public au bout de son arme fatale et le harponne. Cette intensité, MCH la doit bien sûr à sa personnalité, mais aussi à son parcours et à ses rencontres. Formée à la Schweizerische Ballettberufsschule à Zurich et à la Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance à Londres, elle travaille souvent avec des artistes aux univers insolites et puissants, comme François Chaignaud avec qui elle a créé Duchesses. Cependant, Le Triomphe de la Renommée échappe au rapport de force entre la scène et la salle. Pour la simple raison que cette performance, à l'affiche du CCS, se déroule dans l'intimité de la danseuse. Un par un, les spectateurs se rendent dans la loge de MCH et assistent à son illustration performative des Triomphes, de Pétrarque, six poèmes dans lesquels le poète italien du xive siècle compare les différentes formes de succès. Qui va l'emporter de la Renommée, de l'Amour, de la Chasteté, du Temps, de la Mort ou de l'Éternité ? Réponse dans l'antre secret de la jeune femme.

 

Marie-Pierre Genecand

liens