close

Tony Morganartist sheet 43/72

focus

events

Exhibitions

This British artist lived in London, Düsseldorf, New York and, finally, Geneva. First a sculptor then a painter, he was also a pioneer of video and performance art. In 1972, he invented an androgynous double called Herman.

60 years of performance art in Switzerland museum Tinguely, 20.09.2017 - 28.01.2018

London Rome Walk (1960)

Photograph, 37.8 x 27 cm

In 1960 Morgan realizes hist first performance, a hike from London to Rome, where the Olympic Games were taking place at the time.

Pause, Lash, Herman Live (1972-1973)

Series of photographs, 140.6 x 101.6 cm each, collection Fonds cantonal d'art contemporain, Geneva.

In 1972 Morgan invents Herman, his androgynous alter ego. Behind this mask he composes and interprets songs, realizes video and photo works.

Herman: Spot, Smear, Squeeze, Applause (1973, vidéo, 18'16'')

Black and white videos, sound, 18'16''

In 1972 Morgan invents Herman, his androgynous alter ego. Behind this mask he composes and interprets songs, realizes video and photo works.

Volcano (1973, vidéo, 2'13'')

Black and white video, sound, 2'13'', collection Fonds d'art contemporain de la ville de Genève

In 1972 Morgan invents Herman, his androgynous alter ego. Behind this mask he composes and interprets songs, realizes video and photo works.

Munich People (Aktionraum Munich) (1969, video, 20')

Black and white video, sound, 20', collection Fonds d'art contemporain de la ville de Genève

With Klaus Rinke, Morgan is invited to inaugurate Aktionsraum in Munich. Visitors state their name, date, and time of their visit in front of his camera - documentation of the encounter which becomes the basis of Morgan's performance.

People's Presence (Munich, 21.02.1970)

Photographs

Morgan asks the public to stand in a line and step up to him individually, in order to enter into dialog with the artist by means of direct eye contact.

PerformanceProcess Paris, Centre culturel suisse 18.09-13.12.15


We would like to thank Christine Serdaly Morgan.
A selection of videos and photographs focusing on the presentation of his own body. Munich People and Peoples Presence refer to performances where the artist stands facing each spectator, one by one. Herman: Spot, Smear, Squeeze, Applause presents a series of actions where Tony Morgan/Herman plays with the camera lens, and so with the surface of the screen.

Munich People (Aktionraum Munich), (1969, 20')

Film transferred to video, FMAC collection, Geneva

Peoples Presence (Munich, 21.02.1970)

Photographs extract from the object-book , 19 pages, 24 × 32 cm, 2 typed pages , 2 black and white photographs 23.3 × 16 cm, 32 black and white photographs 24 × 18.3 cm, TMStudio collection, Geneva

Lash (1973, 6'54'')

Video, FMAC collection, Geneva

Volcano (1973, vidéo, 2'13'')

FMAC collection, Geneva

Herman live (1976)

Photograph, 140,6×101,6cm, FCAC collection, Geneva, n° inv. 02967 A-E

extraball

symposium

+

biography

bibliography

interview

images

vidéos

texts

Art with split identities

Tony Morgan had intuitions that made him a pioneer of performance art and video art. ...

Tony Morgan had intuitions that made him a pioneer of performance art and video art.

First a sculptor with close links to New British Sculpture, video pioneer Tony Morgan (1938-2004) made experimental films, installations, and performances and took part in the Fluxus movement, working with Daniel Spoerri, Robert Filliou and Emmett Williams.

In 1960 he walked from London to Rome, where the Olympics were being held. Before he left and when he arrived, he had himself photographed and interviewed, thus delimiting his journey and making it into his first ever performance. He described in a notebook (now lost) the daily experience and feelings of the walker. Acting out and documenting things—very much part of the zeitgeist at the time—became part of his artistic toolbox. The more accomplished work entitled The Book of Exercises (1971) presents typewritten text alongside photographs illustrating simple acts such as bed-making or climbing a ladder. In 1972 in New York, he invented an androgynous double called Herman. In this guise, he wrote and performed songs, made himself a superstar outfit, made himself up as a bride-to-be, and produced videos and photographs that constitute his best known body of work.

After Rome, Florence, Paris, Düsseldorf (where he taught), New York and Amsterdam, he settled in Geneva, mainly devoting himself to painting and creating a few political performance pieces and videos.

Although Morgan used techniques that were new at the time and made his body into a raw material, he always described himself as a painter and used references untrammelled by passing fashion: for example the colours and simple shapes of Giotto di Bondone or Henri Matisse, and the sombre expressiveness of Van Gogh's Potato Eaters (which he reinterpreted) or of Dante (whose work he illustrated).

No classification based on period, place or medium can do justice to Morgan's free-spirited approach, both in terms of its method and the thinking behind it. In retrospect, his split identities turn out to be more apparent than real, as so many of his videos and performances are painterly and so many of his paintings are performative.

 

Claude-Hubert Tatot, an art historian

links

close

Tony MorganFiche artiste 34/55

focus

événements

Expositions

Cet artiste anglais a vécu notamment à Londres, Düsseldorf, New York et enfin Genève, pendant de nombreuses années. D'abord sculpteur puis surtout peintre, il a aussi été un pionnier de la vidéo et de la performance. En 1972, il s'invente un double androgyne, Herman.

60 ans d’art performatif en Suisse musée Tinguely, 20.09.2017 - 28.01.2018

London Rome Walk (1960)

Photographie, 37.8 x 27 cm

En 1960, Tony Morgan réalise sa première performance, une marche de Londres à Rome, où se déroulent les Jeux olympiques. Au départ et à l'arrivée, il se fait photographier et interviewer. 

 

Pause, Lash, Herman Live (1972-1973)

Série de photographies, 140.6 x 101.6 cm chaque, collection Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain, Genève. 

En 1972, Tony Morgan invente Herman, un double androgyne. Sous ce masque, il compose des chansons qu'il interprète et réalise des vidéos et des photographies. 

Herman: Spot, Smear, Squeeze, Applause (1973, vidéo, 18'16'')

Vidéos noir/blanc, son, 18’16’’

En 1972, Tony Morgan invente Herman, un double androgyne. Sous ce masque, il compose des chansons qu'il interprète et réalise des vidéos et des photographies. 

Volcano (1973, vidéo, 2'13'')

Vidéo noir/blanc, son, 2’13’’, collection Fonds d'art contemporain de la ville de Genève

En 1972, Tony Morgan invente Herman, un double androgyne. Sous ce masque, il compose des chansons qu'il interprète et réalise des vidéos et des photographies. 

Munich People (Aktionraum Munich) (1969, vidéo, 20')

Vidéo noir/blanc, son, 20', collection Fonds d’art contemporain de la ville de Genève

Tony Morgan est invité, notamment avec Klaus Rinke, pour inaugurer l’Aktionraum. Cherchant le contact humain, il demande aux visiteurs de lui donner leur nom, date et heure de visite face à sa caméra, pour témoigner de ce face à face, considéré par l’artiste comme la base de la performance. 

 

People's Presence (Munich, 21.02.1970)

Photographies

Tony Morgan demande au public de s’aligner en file d’attente, avant de passer devant lui. A ce moment, chaque visiteur et l’artiste se regardent dans les yeux pendant une ou deux minutes.

PerformanceProcess Paris, Centre culturel suisse 18.09-13.12.15


Remerciements à Christine Serdaly Morgan
Sélection de vidéos et de photographies centrées sur la mise en scène de son propre corps. Munich People et Peoples Presence se réfèrent à des performances où l'artiste, debout, fait face à chaque spectateur, l'un après l’autre. Herman: Spot, Smear, Squeeze, Applause présente une suite d’actions où Tony Morgan/Herman joue avec la lentille de la camera, donc avec la surface de l'écran.

Munich People (Aktionraum Munich), (1969, 20')

Film transféré sur vidéo, collection FMAC, Genève

Peoples Presence (Munich, 21.02.1970)

Photographies extraites du livre-objet, 19 pages, 24×32 cm, 2 pages dactylographiées, 2 photographies n/b 23,3×16 cm, 32 photographies n/b 24×18,3 cm, collection TMStudio, Genève

Lash (1973, 6'54'')

Video, collection FMAC, Genève

Volcano (1973, vidéo, 2'13'')

Collection FMAC, Genève

Herman live (1976)

Photographie, 140,6×101,6cm, collection FCAC, Genève, n° inv. 02967 A-E

extraball

colloques

+

Notice biographique

bibliographie

interview

images

videos

textes

Un art aux identités plurielles

Tony Morgan a eu des intuitions de précurseur de la performance et de la vidéo. ...

Tony Morgan a eu des intuitions de précurseur de la performance et de la vidéo.

D'abord sculpteur dans le sillage de la nouvelle sculpture anglaise, Tony Morgan (1938–2004), pionnier de la vidéo, réalise des films expérimentaux, des installations, des performances et participe à l'aventure Fluxus, collabore avec Daniel Spoerri, Robert Filliou ou Emmett Williams.

En 1960, il marche de Londres à Rome, où se déroulent les Jeux olympiques. Au départ et à l'arrivée, il se fait photographier et interviewer, bornant ainsi son action, qui devient sa première performance. Il note dans un carnet perdu le quotidien et les sensations du marcheur. Agir et documenter qui sont dans l'air du temps deviennent pour partie ses outils artistiques. Plus abouti, The Book of Exercises (1971) met en regard tapuscrit et photographies illustrant des gestes aussi simples que faire son lit ou monter à une échelle. En 1972 à New York, il s'invente un double androgyne, Herman. Sous ce masque, il compose des chansons qu'il interprète, se taille un costume de superstar, se grime en future épouse et réalise vidéos et photographies qui constituent le corpus le plus connu de son œuvre.

Après Rome, Florence, Paris, Düsseldorf où il enseigne, New York et Amsterdam, il s'installe à Genève, se consacre essentiellement à la peinture et fait quelques performances et vidéos à caractère politique.

Si Morgan s'est emparé de techniques alors nouvelles et fait de son corps un matériau, il s'est toujours dit peintre, revendiquant des références hors mode : couleurs et formes simples de Giotto di Bondone et d'Henri Matisse, expressivité sombre des Mangeurs de pommes de terre de Vincent van Gogh qu'il réinterprète ou de Dante qu'il illustre.

Toute classification par période, lieu ou médium ne peut rendre compte d'une démarche libre tant dans la manière de faire que dans celle de penser. Rétrospectivement, les ruptures se révèlent plus apparentes que réelles tant nombre de ses vidéos ou performances sont picturales et nombre de ses peintures performatives.

 

Claude-Hubert Tatot, historien de l'art

liens