close

Anna Wintelerartist sheet 55/55

focus

events

Exhibitions

60 years of performance art in Switzerland museum Tinguely, 20.09.2017 - 28.01.2018

Le petit déjeuner sur la route d'après Manet (1979, video, 22')

For Winteler, this video, in which she walks slowly along the Rhine and undresses as she goes, marks the transition from her practice as a dancer to that as a visual artist. The action was filmed by Reinhard Manz.

La Traviata II (1980, video, 24'41'')

In La Traviata II, the artist tumbles about near a pile of objects until the vibrations on the wooden floor cause the pile to collapse.

JEUNE-FEMME-CH (1981-1982, vidéo, 22')

The artist, wearing a skirt, performs a series of handstands in front of the camera until she loses her balance.

PerformanceProcess Paris, Centre culturel suisse 18.09-13.12.15

extraball

symposium

+

biography

bibliography

interview

images

vidéos

texts

From ballet to physiotherapy

Although Anna Winteler stopped producing art in 1991, her works remain very significative. ...

Although Anna Winteler stopped producing art in 1991, her works remain very significative.

In the 1980s, Anna Winteler was one of the best-known young performance, video and installation artists in Switzerland. She grew up in Lausanne, trained as a ballet dancer, and began to work in Basel as a self-taught artist in the late 1970s.

Her experimental work fascinated young artists—including Jean-Christophe Ammann, then director of the Kunsthalle in Basel. In 1988, in a solo exhibition there, she showed her Discours des Montagnes à la Mere (sic), for which a catalogue was also published. Anna Winteler was part of a circle of artists that formed around Eric Hattan and Silvia Bächli who, since 1981, had directed the Filiale art space in Basel. At the heart of Filiale's activities was what was called at the time “work situated in space” by Swiss artists—the ancestor of installations. In 1984, Anna Winteler contributed to the exhibition Das subjektive Museum (The Subjective Museum) organised by Filiale.

Her first video, Le Petit Déjeuner sur la route d'après Manet (1979), remains one of her best known works: a performance recorded by Reinhard Manz. For Winteler, this video marks her transition from performing art to “free art”. It shows her walking slowly with even steps along the banks of the Rhine, stripping as she goes. The subject of her interventions and performances, and soon also of her video work and photographic installations, was the experience of the body “in process”, in motion and in space. In 1991 she produced the last video work of her career: Geriatrie 1A – Das Hohelied (Geriatrics 1A – the Song of Songs). The artist took a camera attached to a wheelchair along the corridors of the geriatrics ward of Basel's main hospital for twenty-four hours, then edited the footage into a 39-minute video.

Despite her success as an artist, Winteler decided to give up her artistic work and enter the medical field. Since then, she has worked as a physiotherapist in Basel.

 

Roman Kurzmeyer

links

close

Anna WintelerFiche artiste 55/55

focus

événements

Expositions

60 ans d’art performatif en Suisse musée Tinguely, 20.09.2017 - 28.01.2018

Le petit déjeuner sur la route d'après Manet (1979, vidéo, 22')

Pour l’artiste, cette vidéo où elle marche lentement le long du Rhin tout en se déshabillant marque son passage de la vie de danseuse (art du spectacle) à celle d’artiste visuelle. L’action a été filmée par Reinhard Manz.

 

La Traviata II (1980, vidéo, 24'41'')

Dans La Traviata II, l’artiste se laisse tomber à proximité d’un empilement d’objets disposés sur un sol en bois, jusqu’à ce que la totalité de la colonne s’effondre.

JEUNE-FEMME-CH (1981-1982, vidéo, 22')

Face à la caméra, l’artiste habillée d’une jupe effectue pendant 22 minutes une multitude de colonnes droites jusqu’à en perdre l’équilibre. Elle est tantôt filmée de face, tantôt de dos.

PerformanceProcess Paris, Centre culturel suisse 18.09-13.12.15

extraball

colloques

+

Notice biographique

bibliographie

interview

images

videos

textes

Du ballet à la kinésithérapie

Si Anna Winteler a arrêté de produire de l'art en 1991, ses oeuvres restent très significatives. ...

Si Anna Winteler a arrêté de produire de l'art en 1991, ses oeuvres restent très significatives.

Dans les années 1980, Anna Winteler est une des jeunes artistes en performance, vidéo et installation les plus connues de Suisse. Après avoir grandi à Lausanne, elle a suivi une formation de ballet et a commencé à travailler à Bâle comme artiste autodidacte à la fin des années 1970.

Ses travaux expérimentaux fascinent le jeune milieu des artistes – dont Jean-Christophe Ammann, alors directeur de la Kunsthalle de Bâle. En 1988, dans une exposition qui lui est consacrée, elle y montre son Discours des Montagnes à la Mere (sic), pour lequel un catalogue est également publié. Anna Winteler fait partie d'un cercle d'artistes autour d'Eric Hattan et de Silvia Bächli qui, depuis 1981, dirigent l'espace d'art Filiale à Bâle. Au coeur des activités de Filiale, il y avait ce qu'on appelait à l'époque l'ancêtre des installations, « des travaux situés dans l'espace » d'artistes suisses. En 1984, Anna Winteler contribue à l'exposition Das subjektive Museum (Le Musée subjectif ) organisée par Filiale.

Sa première vidéo, Le Petit Déjeuner sur la route d'après Manet (1979), reste une de ses œuvres les plus connues. Il s'agit d'une performance enregistrée par Reinhard Manz. Pour Winteler, cette vidéo a signifié son passage de l'art du spectacle à « l'art libre ». La vidéo la montre marchant lentement et d'un pas égal, le long des rives du Rhin, tout en s'effeuillant. Le sujet de ses actions et performances, et bientôt aussi de ses travaux vidéo et de ses installations photographiques, est l'expérience du corps en « process », en mouvement et dans l'espace. En 1991, elle produit la dernière œuvre de son parcours artistique en vidéo : Geriatrie 1A – Das Hohelied (Gériatrie 1A – Le Cantique des Cantiques). L'artiste fait circuler pendant vingt-quatre heures une caméra installée sur un fauteuil roulant le long des couloirs du service de gériatrie de l'hôpital cantonal de Bâle et compose une vidéo de 39 minutes. Malgré son succès comme artiste, Winteler décide de troquer le travail artistique pour le travail médical. Depuis cette époque, elle est kinésithérapeute à Bâle.

 

Roman Kurzmeyer

liens